How Are You


I want to change my name,

want to move far away,

and want to leave all my troubles behind.

It’s depression.

Can’t you read all of the signs?

My constant companion,

can’t you leave me alone this time?

The pills don’t work at all.

Just hand out masks that wear a fake smile.

Don’t ask how are you

because I just might tell you the truth.

I feel like dying.

What’s the point in crying?

I don’t want to keep trying.

What’s the point in lying?

If you don’t want to know the truth

don’t ask me how are you.

Just kick yourself in the head.

Just let me lay in my bed.

My head keeps spinning.

Vertigo stop me spinning.

I keep hanging on to the walls

afraid I’m going to fall.

If you don’t want to know the truth

don’t ask me how are you.

Just kick yourself in the head.

Just let me lay in my bed.

How are you?

6 thoughts on “How Are You

  1. That’s lovely, Bonnie. Poetry is so beautiful. Stop over here and let me know what you think of one of my favorites?
    http://scarlettrainssistersoftheheartsblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/let-it-be-forgotten-by-sara-teasdale.html#comment-form

  2. saylordesmet says:

    Powerful, raw poem — I look forward to reading more of your poetry.

  3. lucas says:

    WOW IS ALL I HAVE IN MY MIND NOW

Leave a Reply

