Let It Go


You’re out to hurt me for hurting you.

That was so long ago.

Why can’t you let it go?

I’ve told you I’m sorry.

Can’t we just go on living without the pain?

What do you want?

Do you want me slain in the midnight rain?

If you do I’ll take another train.

Let me off at the next stop.

Take me away from the piercing rain.

There’s a rainbow just out of my reach.

I’ll just sit here for a while

and reach deep down inside for a smile.

You’re silence hurts me

more than any words can say.

The deafening silence makes my head hurt

24 hours a day.

There isn’t a pain pill for the words you don’t say.

All I can do is pray.

You’re out to hurt me for hurting you.

That was so long ago.

Why can’t you just let it go?

Leave a Reply

